Hispanic Heritage Month is observed in the United States from Sept. 15 through Oct. 15. It celebrates the culture and history of the Caribbean, Central and South America, Mexico, and Spain. Sept. 15 is an important date as it the anniversary of independence of the Latin American countries El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Guatemala. In the following weeks, Mexico, Belize, and Chile also celebrate their independence days. Hispanic Heritage Month was enacted into law on Aug. 17, 1988, but its observation began in 1968.   Click here to read the full article on NJEA.org 

Leave a Reply